Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
January 26, 2004

School Board Minutes
January 26, 2004

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 26th DAY OF JANUARY, 2004. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Erickson, Dunwoody, Royer, Steen, and Aaker. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Hood, Jewett, Leikvold, Seyer, Riedell, Soriano, and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick Beaty, Rosalie Aslesen, Susan Deichert, Chele Damuth, and Ida Marie Snortland.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Erickson called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Erickson led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the agenda.

Kathy Hood and Sharla Jewett addressed the Board on their efforts to match standards and assessment processes.

Dave Peters addressed the Board on a variety of issues:

     1. The School District will be providing more of a healthy choice for students in the vending machines.

     2. The Northern Hills Rotary Club has awarded a $1,000 academic incentive award to Susan Deichert
         and Chele Damuth of East Elementary.

     3. The Board was updated on proposed legislation that is pertinent to the School District.

     4. South Dakota Department of Education has awarded the school district $200,000 for the demonstration classroom          project at West Elementary.

     5. Results of the report on the District’s school lunch program from Mary Mooney was shared with the Board.

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Dunwoody and carried to approve the administrative staff contracts for 2004-05, no salary amount was tied to this recommendation pending further study of the budget.

Motion was made by Dunwoody, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the following consent agenda.

     A. Public School Exemption Certificate for one elementary student to attend home school. (Code: 003-0126-120)

     B. Approved West Elementary volunteer list: Don Aaker, Sandra Addy, Brooke Aker, Cheri Anderson, Belva Anderson,         Deb Aspelin, Len Austin, Shirley Bahr, Leo Bakeberg, Billie Jo Bakeberg, Mike Barnes, Bonnie Barnhardt, Wanda         Bellman, Julie Bendict, Joan Bockwoldt, Jenny Braig, Tashi Braun, Stephanie Bryan, Loxy Burchard, Julie Burg, Mary         Burket, Shawna Burnett, Mistie/Jeffery Caldwell, Cheri Callison, Kathy Caudill, Linda Christensen, Cathy Christianson,         Aileen Christofferson, Sarah Ciani, Mary Margaret Clark, Val Clauser, Corrie Claussen, Sara Clements, Sherri Clites,         Ronnie Coates, Dallas Conner, Linda Cottrill, Teresa Curran, Nicolle DeCook, Sheryl Diedrich, Ly Van Do, Tracey         DuFloth, Amy DuFloth, Jo Edsall, Shannon Ellingson, Don/Deb Engesser, Lynn Englund, Ed Erickson, Kim Eymer,         Stephanie Farrokhi, Kathy Finkle, Erin Finley, Theresa Flaim, Ed/Jennifer Fox, Ann Froelich, Rebecka Funk, David         Gallant, Kris Garlick, Clara Garvin, Jerri Geist, Debon Geppert, Beth Goetz, Mikayla Graslie, Connie Green, Martha         Griffith, Lana Grout, Heather Hansen, Bethany Hanson, Kristi Harrington, Vickie Hauck, Shawn Haug, Karen Haynes,         Marcie Heymeyer, Debbie Hogan, Lay Hauay Poh Bergmann, Sheri Humbracht, Anna Huntington, Susan Hupp, Sandy         Hurst, Belinda IronHawk, Laura Jackle, LaFawn Janis, Michael Jones, Joe Kane, Therasa Karnbach, Kelly Klein,         Lynnett Klumb, Shandi Kobbe Cory Lochiyama, Jean Konstant, Julene Krska, Cathy Krusznski, Jana Kuchenbecker,         Judy Lamb, Amy Lantis, Lynne Larson, Mary Lauer, Leslie Leahy, Cathy Lessly, Samantha Lipp, Tara Little, Lori         Little, Barbie Long, Lori Pults, Penny Louks, Deb MacDonald, Kacie Marta, Sue McGrath, Michelle McGrath         Hovland, Rozanne McLaughlin, April Meeker, Deb Meyer, Dean Meyers, Carla Moerike, Jessica Morgan, Tonya         Mullaney, Marilee Neighbours, Kelly Nelson, Jennifer Nelson, John/Chanda Owen, Patty Parrett, Leroy         Pawlowski, Elaine Perry, Tylee Peterson, Mary Pochop, Kathy Price, Melissa Quigley, Melissa Raad, Leah Rofferty,         Val Reed, Kelly Reynolds, Gladys Rizzi, Lori Root, Randall Royer, Shane Sarver, Sandy Schamber, Kim Schavone,         Stephanie Schofield, Fay Schields, Wndy Shirey, Dee Sleep, Connie Smith, Nancy Sprynczynatyk, Terry Steen, Angela         Stofferhan, Robin Striepeke, Mandie Sundsted, Daphne Sutton, Gatian Sweeney, Linda Syman, Nola Tellinghuisen,         Patty Tetrault, Shirleen Thomas, Crystal Tintinger, Machelle Torpy, Jill Trimble, Jennifer Trzaskoma, Karen Turgeon,         Jessica VanderLaan, Kari VanZee, Dixie Varns, Angelique Vogler, Julie Walker, Bonnie Walker, Karen Walton, Dona         Warwick, Donald Wasmoen, Leonard Weber, Lorena Wenzel, Rebecca Wharton, Michelle White, Margaret Wootten,         Sheri Wilson, Vicki Wood, Nancy Wood, Cindy Wright, Cynthia Wright, Kevin Zacher.

   C. Personnel (All hires contingent on successful completion of background check).

       1. Approved DeLynne Tollefsrud, Title1 teaching contract, 83.5 days, $6,219.92
       2. Approved the request from Duane Tordoff to participate in Board Policy 4119.1, Voluntary Separation Incentive at            the close of the 2003-04 school year.
       3. Approved coaching appointment for Kalen Hill, Middle School boys basketball, Level 4, $1415.56.
       4. Approved Kristi Hayes, Title 1 teaching contract; .25 FTE, 83.5 days, BS-10, 14G, $3,725.35.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Dunwoody and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 6:06 p.m.

Ed Erickson, President ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.