Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
October 14, 2003

School Board Minutes
October 14, 2003

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 14H DAY OF OCTOBER, 2003. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: Dunwoody, Royer, Steen, and Aaker. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Leikvold, Seyer, Riedel, Soriano, and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick-Beaty, Krystie Marshall, Kathy Christensen, Abby Braaten, Corbin Mullen, Robert Brown, Shirley Povandra, Bill Povandra, Adam Heemeyer, Craig Sparrow, Terry Sheahan, Linda Foltz, Becca Hayes, Bob McIntosh, Jerry Krambeck, Pam Soriano, Kay Cox, Lavonne Johnson, Donna Golliher, Terry Sharkey, Nancy Martin, Diane Wendt, Carissa Braun, Amanda Winchester, Everett A. Follette, Bill Coburn, Lorie Umphrey, and Clair Donovan.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

Vice President Dunwoody called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Dunwoody led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the agenda.

Kathy Christensen and Nancy Martin reported on East’s Fall Fitness Festival.

Paul Soriano recognized the volunteers for the crosswalk program.

A resolution was made to establish the Consolidated Board of Equalization. Roll call vote Dunwoody, Steen, Aaker, Royer: Aye

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Royer and carried to appoint Dunwoody as the Board representative for the Board of Equalization.

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the following consent agenda.

          A.   Authority to Act for two High School teachers.
          B.   Approved the exemption for 7 elementary students, and 4 Middle School students to attend home school
                (Code 003-1014-101 through 110).        
         C.   Personnel (All hires contingent on successful completion of background check).
               1.   Approved the appointment of Gerald Bruce as a Special Ed ESP, 6 hours per day, Level 5 $8.13 per hour,                    effective 10/15/03.
               2. Approved the coaching appointments for the following:

Lori Enright MS Gymnastics Level 4 $1592.50
Kayla Bolke MS Girls Basketball Level 4 $1592.50
Jeff Hagen MS Boys Basketball Level 4 $1592.50
Mike McCarty MS Boys Basketball Level 4 $1592.50

Discussion was held concerning another option to use Riddel field and the field North of the High School. Everett A. Follette, Bill Coburn and Clair Donovan participated in the discussion.

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Steen to approve the September 8th and 22nd minutes.

Motion was made by Aaker, seconded by Royer to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Steen and carried to move into executive session.

The regular meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session at 6:53 p.m. and Vice President Dunwoody adjourned the meeting at 6:54 p.m.

Ed Erickson, President ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.