Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
October 27, 2003

School Board Minutes
October 27, 2003

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 27TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2003. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Erickson, Dunwoody, Royer, Steen, and Aaker. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Hood, Jewett, Leikvold, Riedell, Soriano, and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick Beaty, Jan Kaus, Bonnie Halsey-Dutton, Sherry Ewing, Rebecca Lehman, Gary Andersen, Karen Hahn, Sandy Klarenbeek, Ev Follette, Bill Coburn, Sean Binder, Jason Nies, Tammy Soek, Scott Smith, Randy Koopman, Melissa Trepl, Patricia Larsen, Miranda Hansen, Marie Tullinger, Stefanne Seiler, Margo Mollman, and Kaysha Bucher.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Erickson called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Erickson led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Dunwoody, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the agenda.

Dave Peters thanked Taco John’s Gary Andersen for again providing a $5 gift certificate for all employees of the District.

Kathy Hood reported on the National Crime Prevention Conference that she attended. Sean Binder and Jason Nies reported on the students perspective.

Bonnie Halsey-Dutton gave a power point presentation on last year’s student art work on the anti-smoking ad unit.

Dave Peters recognized the administrative staff members who are serving in various capacities with a variety of organizations.

The conflicting graduation release date of seniors was discussed.

Dave Peters also updated the Board on the progress of various committees and their meetings.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Steen and approved to accept the proposed changes to the Ruddel Field/North High School Field area.

Motion was made by Dunwoody, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the following consent agenda.

    A.       Cancel outstanding checks more than two years old.
    B        Approved the exemption for 2 elementary students, 1 Middle School and 1 High School student to attend home                school.
Motion was made by Dunwoody, seconded by Royer and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 6:36 p.m.

Ed Erickson, President ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.