Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
September 22, 2003

School Board Minutes
September 22, 2003

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 22ND DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2003. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Erickson, Dunwoody, Royer, Steen, and Aaker. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Hood, Leikvold, Seyer, Soriano, and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick Beaty, Teri J. Dibble, Jeri Tope, Connie Sheahan, Leesa Haugland, Bonnie Langum, Chuck Standen, Kamisha S. Hare, Alexa Redding, Nicole Jares, Jan Goodrich, Bob Holm, Monica Roetman, Kristi Tveit, Heathen Schoaf, and Sue McGrath.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Erickson called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Erickson led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Dunwoody and carried to approve the agenda.

South Dakota READS research project and the observation room used in collaboration with BHSU, was presented by Sue McGrath. Connie Sheahan, Bonnie Langum, Leesa Haugland, and Jan Goodrich explained the benefits of the READS program and the observation room used at West Elementary.

Chuck Standen, SHS Science teacher, explained Modeling Across the Curriculum.

School Board retreat was discussed. Topics were:
       1. Declining enrollment
       2. Public Relations
       3. Collaboration with BHSU
       4. Foundation

Kathy Hood outlined the curriculum committees and their many goals and projects.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Dunwoody and carried to approve the following consent agenda.

       A. Approved the exemption for 2 elementary students, 3 Middle School and 1 High School student to attend home
           school (Code 003-922-95 through 003-922-100).
       B. Personnel (All hires contingent on successful completion of background check).
           1. Approved the coaching appointments for the following:

  Annie Rossow MS Volleyball Level 4 $1,415.55
  Jared Jankord MS Boys Basketball Level 4 $1,592.50
  Jared Jankord MS Track Level 4 $1,592.50
Approved extra-duty assignments for:
  Bernie Krambeck NCA Co-Chair Level 1.5 $245.00
  Lennis Larson NCA Co-Chair Level 1.5 $245.00
  Tom Mead NCA Co-Chair Level 1.5 $245.00
  Darlene Telkamp NCA Co-Chair Level 1.5 $245.00

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Royer and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 6:39 p.m.

Ed Erickson, President ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.