Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
December 13, 2004


School Board Minutes
December 13, 2004

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 13TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2004. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Aaker, Royer, Steen, Aslesen and Sleep. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Hood, Jewett, Leikvold, Seyer, Riedel, Soriano and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick-Beaty, Jan Kaus, Logan Hall, Alayna Siemonsma, Glen Lewis, Eric James, Christine Lambert, Alex Lewis, Roxanne Lewis, Kenzie Falk, Gary Falk, Cathy Bergey, Kyle Kloeck, Kory Reinert, Darlene Telkamp, Jackie Rans, Patti Mundt, Kim Hamilton, John Swanson, Ron Borgman, Kip Roozen, Archie Gray, Lezlie Kaitfors, Nadene Harr, Nona Rath, and Hollie Stalder.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Aaker called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Aaker led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the agenda.

West Elementary music teacher, Kathy Ewing and students from her “Nutcracker” show entertained.

West Elementary Title I staff presented information on their recent “Parent Night” activities.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to table the proposed alternative calendar.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Royer and carried to table the decision to implement the four day plus school week until December, 2005. And that Mr. Peters create a committee consisting of the superintendent, a board member, a minimum of two teachers from each building one being a High School guidance counselor, some High School students, and several parents. This committee will continue to work as the previous committee in every way it deems necessary to provide a recommendation to the Board no later than December 2005. Aye: Aaker, Royer, Aslesen Nay: Sleep Absent: Steen

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the Middle School “School Improvement” plan.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Aslesen and carried to accept a change in the SEA agreement in the Reduction in Force language.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the renewal of the health insurance plan with DakotaCare.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the following consent agenda.
       A. Approved Certificate of Exemption for 1 Middle School and 1 High School student to attend home school. (Codes 004-1213-090 through 091)
       B. Approved the parental request for an open enrollment student to be released from open enrollment in order to return to the district of residence, Belle             Fourche School District.
       C. Approved request for school district residency for a student living with non-custodial parents.
       D. Accepted resignations from:
           1. Nancy Rogers, Middle School custodian.
           2. Sean Allen, High School custodian
           3. Tamera Allen, East ESP, effective 12/21/04
           4. Janice O’Leary, High School ESP, effective 1/3/05
           Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
       E. Approved appointments for:
           1. Stanistawa Argasinka, Middle School custodian replacing Nancy Rogers, 8 hr/day, 12 months, Level 0, $6.80/hour
           2. Andrea Pope, West SPED ESP, new position, 19 hr/wk, Level 2 $7.28/hr.
           3. Brett Rauterkus              MS BBB              Level 4           $1,625
           4.James Dona                    MS BBB              Level 4           $1,625

Jeff Sleep, Buildings and Grounds Committee Chair, presented various options for the sale of Central School. The method of sale will be an action item at the next Board meeting.

Superintendent Peters presented information on the dance committee meeting.

Superintendent Peters also summarized information on legislation anticipated for the coming session.

Superintendent Peters outlined the financial information presentation scheduled for January.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the November 8th minutes.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Royer and carried to move into executive session.

The Board came out of executive session at 9:14 p.m., the regular meeting resumed.

President Aaker adjourned the meeting at 9:15 p.m.

Don Aaker, President ____________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.