Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
February 14, 2005

School Board Minutes
February 14, 2005

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 14TH DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2005. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Aaker, Royer, Steen, Aslesen and Sleep. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Jewett, Leikvold, Seyer, Riedel, Soriano and Fridell. Also present were: Jan Kaus, Chuck Standen, Annette Johnson, Larry & Pat Hardin, Steve Gabriel, Jesse Martin, Lisa Howard, Nick Gottlob, Ben Spaars, Kris Hayes, Sian Young, Patti Mundt, Patrick Auer, Darlene Kaye Telkamp, Terri Dunwoody, Kate Axlund, John E. Swanson, and Kip Roozen.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Aaker called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Aaker led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the agenda with the addendum.

Middle School Principal, Tom Riedel, introduced Annette Johnson and Leann Vette who presented material on bowling, health fair and the cook out. Annette and Leann also awarded Jesse Martin his state award for the Outstanding New Professional in physical education.

High School principal, Dan Leikvold, introduced Scott Howard who presented information on “Writing Across the Curriculum: World History”

Special Services Director, David Jewett, presented information on writing assessment.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the budget reductions for 2005-06 school year. Aye: Aaker, Royer, Aslesen, Sleep. Nay: Steen

Following discussion and an amendment to the motion that failed to receive a second, a motion was made by Royer, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the administrative contracts for the 2005-06 school year. Aye: Aaker, Royer, Steen, Sleep. Nay: Aslesen

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the school calendar for the 2005-06 school year.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to change graduation requirements to include a minimum of three years of Science effective with the class of 2009.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the resolution on refunding the Middle School bonds. Aye: Aaker, Royer, Steen, Aslesen, Sleep.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the following consent agenda.
       A. Approved Certificate of Exemption for 2 Middle School and 1 High School student to attend home school. (Codes 004-0214-094 to 004-0214-96)
       B. Declare as surplus property the H.S. guidance office fax machine, Samsung SF-5100.
       C. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
           Accepted resignations from:
           1. Dan Leikvold, H.S. principal, effective June 30, 2005
           2. Judy Boesch, H.S. ESP, effective end of the school year
           3. Anne Crosswait-Degen, speech/language pathologist, effective at the end of the school year.
       D. Accepted voluntary separation request Board Policy 4450 for Sheila Carlson, West Elementary teacher, and Tom Freece H.S. Special Education teacher             effective at the end of the school year.
       E. Approved appointment of Robert Torres as H.S. custodian replacing Sean Allen, 8hr/day 12 months, Level 0-$6.80/hr. effective 2-14-05.
       F. Approved request from an open enrollment student from Belle Fourche to be released from open enrollment in the Spearfish District and allowed to return             to the Belle Fourche School District.
       G. Approved the assignment of Jill Drolc to the position of Superintendent’s Secretary, $14.50/hr. 12 months, effective 2/15/05.
       H. Approved Doug Syman, Pete Wilson, and Dan Holben as driver’s education instructors at a salary of $750 each for classroom instruction and $17.50 per             hour each for driving instruction. Allow a total of $500 for the people who do registration for the driver ed program.

Discussion was held concerning the High School proposal for a Curriculum Planning Block. It was decided to proceed with the first scheduled Friday and assess the pilot program at the next Board meeting.

Dave Peters, Superintendent, reported on the legislation session.

The annual compensation survey and data pertinent to the school district were discussed.

First reading of Board Policies as approved by the Policy Committee:
      1. Board Policy 1310 - Building and Facility Use
      2. Board Policy 4450 - Voluntary Separation Incentive Policy
      3. Board Policy 5035 - Open Enrollment (Proposed Policy)
      4. Board Policy 5210 - Suspension and Expulsion
      5. Board Policy 5600 - Student Records

The East Elementary parent fund raising effort was discussed.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the January 10th and 31st minutes.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Royer and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 8:43 p.m.

Don Aaker, President ____________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.