Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
March 29, 2005

School Board Minutes
March 29, 2005

A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 29TH DAY OF MARCH, 2005. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Aaker, Royer, Steen, Aslesen and Sleep. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Hood, Seyer, and Fridell. Also present were: Jan Kaus, Heather Ziegenbein, Kate Axlund, Bob H. Roberts, Betty Jo Roberts, Jim Seward, David D. Ruff, Cecil Whitlock, Everett A. Follette, Bryan Walker, Mindie Meyers, Cami Dohman, Kim Schavone, Mary Wickstrom, Steve Williams, Amy McCabe, Darlene Thompson, Jane Hill, Tim Manning, Susan Hupp, Kim Hamilton, Ida Marie Snortland, Joe B. Jorgenson, Sian Young, Darlene Kaye Telkamp, Clint Meyer, Deb Meyer, Kathy and Katie Young, Tami Enderby, Janice Koski, Laurie Williams, Mary Gillick, Lennis Larson, Liz Manning, Mike Manning, Anna Huntington, Hollie Stalder, Bill Coburn, Pete Young, Jean Konstant, David Raad, Jodi Sleep, Stewart Huntington, Archie Gray, Ben Sayler, Stacey Gray, and Alyce Schavone.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Aaker called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Aaker led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Aslesen and carried to hire Steve Morford as the Spearfish High School Principal for the 2005-2006 school year.

Discussion was held concerning the adoption of a five year $700,000 opt out of the current property tax freeze. The opt out will be an action item at the April 11th Board meeting. Audience participation included Tim Manning, David Ruff, Gordon Mercer, Everett A. Follette, and Steve Babbitt.

No action was taken concerning the teacher pilot program at the High School. Audience participation included Betty Jo Roberts, Archie Gray, and Stacey Gray.

Motion was made by Royer, seconded by Sleep and carried to move into executive session to discuss contract negotiations

The Board came out of executive session at 7:10 p.m., the meeting continued.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Steen and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:11 p.m.

Don Aaker, President ____________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.