Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  
September 13, 2004

School Board Minutes
September 13, 2004

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 13TH DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2004. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: Vice President Royer, Steen, Aslesen and Sleep. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Jewett, Leikvold, Riedel, Soriano, and Fridell. Also present were: Kris Garlick-Beaty, Jan Kaus, Kip Roozen, John E. Swanson, Kate Axlund, Mikayla Tetrault, Ann Rinas, Mary Grady, Kathy Ewing, Darlene Kaye Telkamp, Abby Helling, Shandi Kobbe, Dawn Edwards, Janice Koski, Kris Hayes, and Ron Borgman.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

Vice President Royer called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the agenda with the addendums.

The building principals introduced their new staff members.

David Jewett presented the results of the D-step scores.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Steen to accept the bid of $23,810 including installation from G & H Distributing for the Middle School lockers.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the following consent agenda including one addition.
       A. Facilities use agreement with BHSU $22,500 with an additional $500 for each home football playoff game that may occur.
       B. List of surplus property including the addition of a milk cooler.
       C. Personnel:
           1. Accepted resignation of Katherine Witt, East ESP
           2. Accepted resignation of Carol Woodruff, West Title 1 teacher.
           3. Accepted resignation of Laura DeWain, West ESP, effective 9/24/04
           4. Accepted resignation from Debbie Demmers, HS SPED ESP
           5. Approved classified staff appointments for the following:
               a. Tamera Allen                    Regular ESP East              6.5 hrs/day              Level 2 - $7.28/hr.
               b. Mary Grady                     Regular ESP East              6.5 hrs/day              Level 4 - $7.88/hr.
               c. Krista Shaykett                Regular ESP East               3.75hrs/day             Level 0 - $6.55/hr.
               d. Connie Green                  Regular ESP East               3.75hrs/day             Level 4 - $7.88/hr.
               e. Amy McCabe                 SPED ESP HS                  6.5 hrs/day              Level 2 - $7.28/hr.
               f. Janice O’Leary                SPED ESP HS                  6.5 hrs/day              Level 2 - $7.28/hr.
               g. Patricia Hardin                Lunch East                          8 hrs/day                 Level 0 - $6.55/hr.
               h. Cindy Riley                     SPED ESP West                26 hrs/wk                Level 0 - $6.55/hr .
       D. Approved teaching contract for Shannon Alcorn, .5 FTE West Title 1 and .5 FTE diagnostic testing, BS-6, 10 grad, $29,900.
       E. Approved teaching contract for Kris Hayes, .5 FTE reading, BS-11, 21 grad, $17,095.
       F. Approved the following coaching appointments:
           1. Troy Krogman                               7th Football             Level 4 $1625
           2. Mikayla Tetrault                             8th Volleyball          Level 4 $1625
           3. Ann Rinas                                      7th Volleyball          Level 4 $1625
           4. Jim Dolezal                                    8th Football             Level 4 $1625
           5. Stephanie Schofield                       7th Volleyball           Level 4 $1625
           6. Kristina Newton                            JV Soccer
           7. Mike McCarty                              9th Boys BB            Level 6 $2400
           8. Dennis Walkins                             Drama Tech             Level 2 $800
           9. Joe Kramer                                  HS Intramurals          Level 3 $1200
       G. Approved certificates of exemption for 20 elementary, 17 middle school and 3 high school students, codes 004-913-031 through 004-913-071.

Rosalie Aslesen presented information on the repeal of the food tax issue.

Superintendent Peters outlined the details of Amendment B which was considered at the last legislative session and now concerns the transportation and food service for non-public schooled children.

Rosalie Aslesen related her experiences from the joint convention concerning student health and especially soft drink machines in the High School and Middle School.

Dave Peters also addressed the Board on the issue of starting school after Labor Day.

The Spearfish School District is also working on legislation that would change the 20% limit of general fund reserves if that money was received from the sale of school assets.

A meeting with the new legislators, once the election has been decided, was discussed.

A proposed change in the bus route to include the Sandstone addition was presented. The first day of transporting students resulted in eight students riding the bus.

Jan Hansen, Leesa Haugland, Ann Wince-Lyon, and Bob Spiers will be representing the District at the Governor’s Teacher Leadership Conference in October.

Attendees from the joint convention held in August presented their experiences and opinions.

The October meeting originally scheduled for the 11th falls on Native American Day. Therefore the meeting will be moved to Tuesday, October 12.

The alternative calendar committee is moving forward with public forums discussing the pros and cons. That information will then be shared with the School Board to aid in their decision making process.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the August 9th minutes.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.
Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Steen and carried to move into executive session.

The Board came out of executive session at 9:01 p.m. the regular meeting resumed.

Vice President Royer adjourned the meeting at 9:02 p.m.

Don Aaker, President ____________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager _________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.