Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
December 11, 2006

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 11TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2006. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Royer, Vice President Steen, Krogstad, Sleep and Aslesen. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, and Soriano. Also present were: Heather Zingenbein, Jan Kaus, Ellie Couch, Sharon Gugel, Mindy Capp, Alex Rath, Paula Farley, Savannah Johnson, Cheryl Lind, Chuck Standen, Jillian Tiffany, Dan Holben, Linda Mallory, Lennis Larson, Cody Drolc, LeAnn Vette, Darlene Kaye Telkamp, Ray Telkamp, Kris Hayes, Peggy Heckel, Vaughn Heckel, Jean Reede, Michelle Martin, Bernie Krambeck, Jerry Krambeck, Andrea Mravlja, Kathy Christensen, Josie and John Rounds, Kristi Butler, Patti Mundt, Sheila and David Hansen, Reva Sigle, Tucker Hodson, Tanner Aiken, Tiffany Henwood, Diane Wendt, Deb Hrinda, Les Schroeder, Bonnie Langum, Lisa Merchen, PJ Scheetz, Jan Goodrich, Connie Sheahan, Sheri Ross, Steve Gabriel, Ann Wince-Lyon, Nona Rath, Judy Schurrer, Patrick Hurst, Leesa Haugland, Pam Gillespie, Davi Samuelson, Marjo Peters, Dawn Edwards, Michael Brubaker, Kate Axlund, Linda Knittel, Julie Walkins and Dennis Walkins.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Rosalie, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the agenda with one addition to the consent agenda.

During the scheduled/unscheduled audience segment, Sheila Hansen addressed the Board concerning the upcoming grievance hearing.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, introduced Paula Farley and Dan Holben, Middle School Student Council Advisors and student council officers who updated the Board on their activities for this year.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the loan request of $6,250 for the Fine Arts Hall of Fame.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the 2nd reading and adoption of proposed changes/additions to the following Board policies:
          New Policies:
            1700 Naming Rights
            5012 Off-Campus Misconduct
            5160 Educational Tours
         Policy changes/updates:
            4101 Anti-Harassment Policy
            4202 Employee Drug and Alcohol Policy
            4250/5115 Dangerous Weapons in Schools
            4305 Teacher Recruitment and Selection
            4310 Selection of Classified and Substitutes
            4335 Teacher Duties
            4350 Substitute Teachers
            4360AR Students from Colleges/Universities as Substitutes
            4366 Classified employees working less than 20 hours per week
            4401 Health Examination
            4651AR Reimbursement for District Travel
            4720 South Dakota Retirement

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve DakotaCare for the district’s health insurance carrier.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the resolution to issue capital outlay certificates for construction of the High School addition. Aye: Royer, Steen, Aslesen, Sleep, Krogstad

Motion was made by Sleep, no seconded, to table indefinitely the proposed sale/swap of the school property directly South of the administration building.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Krogstad to direct the facilities committee to meet with the adjacent land owner and reach an agreement concerning details of the proposed land sale/swap.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Krogstad and carried to vote for Margie Rosario of Rapid City and Jan Jungemann of the Douglas School District for ASBSD Directors.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the applications for West and East Elementary for NCA accreditation.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the consent agenda.

          A. Approved certificate of exemption for 1 high school student (code 006-1211-098)
          B. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
              Approved the following personnel and contracts:
              1. Suzanne Phillips, MS ESP, 7 hr/day, Level 5 $8.53 (replacing transfer of Kim Ginsbach, HS ESP)
              2. Dee Dewain, English Language Learner ESP, West Elementary 4 hr/day, Level 5, $8.53/hr.
              3. Approved the following coaching positions:
                   a. Jeremy Wieseler           MS Boys BB              Level 4 $1,690
                   b. Brett Rauterkus            MS Boys BB              Level 4 $1,690
                   c. Jessica Nedved            MS Gymnastics           Level 4 $1,690

Steve Morford provided information on the Classroom Connection pilot project at the High School.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, updated the Board on the facilities committee work on the High School addition in regards to the architect contract, work schedule, and the weekly meetings that are planned.

Superintendent Peters also discussed the wellness committee meeting held recently with building representatives.

Board member Aslesen and Superintendent Peters also outlined the area legislative meeting that they attended with Board member Krogstad and High School Principal Morford.

Discussion was held regarding the insurance fund debt and what to do with the cash option money. Insurance consultant Mike Young has agreed to work with the district and provide direction on this issue.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the November 13th minutes.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Steen and carried to take a five minute break after which the meeting was called to executive session so the Board President and the attorneys could determine who could attend the hearing of two grievances that were filed. The session was allowed to remain open to the public.

The Board came out of executive session at 6:51 p.m., the regular meeting resumed.

The first grievance was filed due to a disagreement over the number of days in the current year's calendar. Following the SEA explanation of their concerns, the grievance and a matching Unfair Labor Practice was withdrawn. SEA also suggested changes in practice in order to avoid similar future concerns. The district agreed to the withdrawal of the grievance and the pending ULP.

Before the hearing on the second grievance proceeded, an understanding was reached between administration and the SEA that they would meet again to attempt to come to agreement on salary schedule concerns. If need be the issue could then be moved to the Board level for final resolution.

Motion was made by Aslesen, seconded by Sleep and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 8:07 p.m.

Dr. Randall Royer, President ________________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.