Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
September 11, 2006

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 11TH DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2006. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Royer, Vice President Steen, Krogstad, Sleep, and Aslesen. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Riedel, Olson, and Soriano. Also present were: Heather Zingenbein, Jan Kaus, Sherry Ewing, Toni Lyke, Liz Manning, Anne Degen, Jennifer McBurnett, Don Aaker, Terri Dunwoody, Sheila Hansen, Bonnie Dutton, Lennis Larson, and Sharon Gugel.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Steen and carried to approve the agenda.

Sherry Ewing addressed the Board concerning student travel abroad.

Building Principals introduced their new certified staff.

Board member, Jeff Sleep, and architect, Steve Williams, discussed the proposed High School addition and the impact of the City’s involvement with the old Wal-Mart building.

Terry Steen shared information concerning the Spearfish Foundation for Public Education fund raising campaign. He also introduced the foundation board members that were present.

Special Education director, Keyra Comer, provided a breakdown of the results from last Spring’s
D-Step testing.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, outlined the agreement with the City concerning the recent horseshoe pit sites.

Motion was made Krogstad, seconded by Steen and carried to recommend initial funding of $6,500 for the Performing Arts Hall of Fame.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Aslesen and carried to approve the consent agenda with corrections.

     A. Approved certificates of exemption for 11 middle school and 7 high school students (code 006-0911-068 - 006-0911-082).
     B. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
         Approved the following personnel and contracts.
         1. Additional 14 days to Tim Gusso’s 2006-07 teaching contract for laptop initiative.
         2. Approved the following classified positions:
             a. Diana Jones               HS Food Service              6.5hr./day            9 months              Level 5     $8.53/hr.
             b. Thad Sacuerman       HS Custodian                    8hr/day               12 months             Level 2     $7.80/hr.
             c. Alsia Doolan              HS ESP-SPED                 6.5hr/day            9 months               Level 3     $7.88/hr.
            d. Katy Heimer              HS ESP-SPED                  6.5hr/day            9 months               Level 4     $8.28/hr.
            e. Arlawayne Keller       HS ESP-SPED                  6.5hr./day           9 months               Level 3     $7.88/hr.
            f. Debra Geiger              MS ESP                            6.5hr./day           9 months               Level 1     $7.05/hr.
            g. Jody Clark                 West ESP-SPED               6.5hr./day           9 months               Level 3     $7.88/hr.
            h. Barb Colgrove           West ESP-SPED               6.5hr./day           9 months               Level 5     $8.53/hr.
            i. Laurel Sealey              West ESP-Title                  6.5hr./day           9 months               Level 5     $8.53/hr.
            j. Jan Harper                 West ESP-SPED               6.5hr./day 4 days/wk. 9 months        Level 5     $8.53/hr.
            k. Mary Harmon            West ESP-SPED              6.5hr./day 4 days/wk. 9 months        Level 3     $7.88/hr.
            l. Pam Baker                  Temp East Lunch Duty                                                                              $7.00/hr.
            m. Christina Highland      Temp East Lunch Duty                                                                              $7.00/hr.
        3. Approve the following coaching positions:
            a. Kristi Coates               HS Soph Volleyball                Level 7      $2,850
            b. Bryan Heck                 HS Soph Girls BB                 Level 8       $3,125
            c. Kristi Butler                 MS Volleyball                        Level 4       $1,625
            d. Ashley Jones               MS Volleyball                        Level 4       $1,625
            e. Danielle Ligtenberg      MS Volleyball                        Level 4       $1,625
            f. Darren Bryant              MS Football                           Level 4       $1,625
            g. Chad Johnson             MS Football                           Level 4        $1,625
            h. Brett Rauterkus           MS Football                           Level 4       $1,625
        4. Approved resignation from Ronald Graves, High School Custodian, effective August 25th, 2006
        5. Approved resignation from Katie Hobson, West Elementary Title I ESP, effective August 18th, 2006
        6. Approved resignation from Tim Bishop, MS Football Coach, effective August 16th, 2006.
    C. Approved requests from two Open Enrollment students from Belle Fourche to be released from open enrolment in the Spearfish School District and allow the students to return to the Belle Fourche School District.

Steve Morford, High School Principal, provided an update on the laptop initiative.

The October School Board meeting scheduled for October 9th has been moved to Tuesday October 10th due to Native American Day.

Superintendent Peters presented the most recent enrollment numbers and how they compared to last year.

Dave Peters also noted that the ASBSD regional meeting will be held at the Sturgis Middle School Monday, October 2nd from 6-9 p.m.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the August 14th minutes.

Motion was made by Steen, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Steen and carried to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:07 p.m.

Dr. Randall Royer, President ________________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.