Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
April 14, 2009

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 14TH DAY OF APRIL, 2009.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Royer, Vice President Sleep, Krogstad, Caldwell, and Bressler.  Administration present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Soriano, and Olson.  Also present were:  Chelsea Sigmond, Eric Hoard, Larry Vavruska, Joe Voight, Hayley Handcock, Carrie Jo Johnson, Todd Johnson, Jordan Gourneau, Penny Lensegrav, Scott Hardesty, Stephanie Gerrish, Whitney Moore, Jason Ward, Savannah Johnson, Paula Farley, Emily Walter, Jim Lee, Bonnie Klunder, Kevin Klunder, Carla Dailey, Doug Deppe, Amy Cermak, Marjo Peters, Mattew Gingevich, Ben Sayler, Blake Besler, Erin Doering, Madeline Ellendorf, and Sami Stadel. 

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.
President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.
Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the agenda with additions.

Middle School Principal, Tom Riedel, introduced student Savannah Johnson who won the Youth Volunteer Award sponsored by Prudential.  She will represent South Dakota in Washington, DC this May along with winners from other states.

Dr. Ben Sayler from BHSU and director of the SUSEL education program provided information on the education efforts at the lab that will benefit students from throughout the state and nation.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the annual technology purchase.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the resolution to continue membership in the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  Roll Call:  Aye:  Royer, Sleep, Krogstad, Caldwell, Bressler

Superintendent, Dave Peters, addressed the Board concerning the Meier property proposal.  The proposal is currently with the school attorney and will be presented to the parties shortly.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Caldwell and carried to approve the consent agenda.
      A.     Approved  surplus of HS laptops from the first cycle of the Classroom connection project.
      B.     Approved the request from an open enrolled student to be released from open enrollment in the Spearfish School District and allow the student to return to the Lead/Deadwood School District.

      C.     Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
               1.      Approved the following extra duty assignments.
                        a.  Marci Holben, MS Track, Level 4, $1,885
                        b.  Bryce Hall, MS Track, Level 4, $1,885
               2.      Approved the following youth soccer association coaches (salary paid by Soccer Association)
                        a.  Jim Hill, Head Boys Varsity
                        b.  Charlie lamb, Head Girls Varsity
                        c.  Ron Theisz, Asst. Boys
                        d.  Garth Spellman, Asst. Girls
               3.      Approved resignations from the following:
                        a.  Amanda Sletten, West Elementary, 1st Grade Teacher, effective end of the 2008-09 school year.
                        b.  Laurie Barnaud, HS, English Teacher, effective end of the  2008-09 school year.
                        c.  Rebecca Studt, HS Drama Asst, effective end of the  2008 -09 school year.
                        d.  Lori Jeffery, MS Volleyball, effective end of 2008-09 school year.
                        e.  Janelle Rauterkus, MS Girls BB, effective end of 2008-09 school year.
      D.     Approved certificate of exemption for 1 middle school student (code 008-0414-116)
Tom Mead was recognized for his Teacher of The Year award, he is one of seven teachers state-wide in the running for State TOY.

Buildings and Grounds Coordinator, Doug Deppe, provided information on the proposed summer projects and purchases.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, updated the Board on the legislative session, and the stimulus funds.

Superintendent Peters recommended that the NCA committee facilitate the strategic planning activity.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the March 9th regular meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Krogstad and carried to move into executive session to discuss upcoming negotiations.  6:30 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session at 7:15 p.m., the regular meeting resumed.            

Vice President Sleep adjourned the meeting at 7:16 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.