Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
August 11, 2008

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 11TH DAY OF AUGUST, 2008. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Royer, Vice President Sleep, Krogstad, Caldwell, and Bressler. Administration present were: Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Riedel, Olson, and Soriano. Also present were: Jan Kaus, Heather Murschel, Jim Lee, and Jenny Lee.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the agenda with addendums.

Jim Lee addressed the Board proposing a vote before the proposed new elementary building proceeds.

Spearfish School Resource Officer, Candi Watts, was recognized as D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, was recognized as the South Dakota Outstanding Superintendent of the Year.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Sleep and carried to renew the District’s ESD + 6 membership.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the consent agenda.
     A. Declared property surplus and ready for auction.
     B. Approved recommendation for Supervisors/Directors.
     C. Approved certificates of exemption for 12 elementary, 6 middle school and 6 high school students
           (code: 008-0811-003 - 008-0811-026).
     D. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
          1. Approved teaching contracts for the following
              a. Barbara Hall, HS Learning Center, 1 FTE, MA-10, 50 Grad, = 200 units $34,000
              b. Laurie Barnaud, HS English, .375 FTE, BS-7, 17 Grad = 69 units = $12,000
              c. Bernard Barnaud, HS French, .625 FTE, BS-1, 25 Undergrad = 29 units = $19,375
          2. Approved extra-duty assignments for the following:
              a. Amber Lashbrook, 9th Volleyball Level 6 $2,784
              b. Mike Abell, Varsity Wrestling Level 10 $4,785
              c. Brett Rauterkus MS Football Level 4 $1,885
              d. Brett Rauterkus MS Boys BB Level 4 $1,885
              e. Breon Schroeder MS Girls BB Level 4 $1,885
              f. Brittany Scott MS Volleyball Level 4 $1,885
              g. Ashley Barnhart-Jones MS Volleyball Level 4 $1,885
              h. Jamie Kimball MS Volleyball Level 4 $1,885
          3. Approved the following classified positions:
              a. David Smith transfer to Asst. Technology Coordinator, $35,900, 40 hr/wk, 12 months, effective July 1st, 2008.
              b. Abraham Rough, HS Custodian, Level 5, $9.33/hr, 40 hr/wk, 12 months effective August 18th, 2008.
              c. Wayne Wipf, HS Custodian, Level 5, $9.33/hr, 40hr/wk, 12 months effective August 18th, 2008.
              d. Timothy McLean, MS Custodian, Level 5, $9.33/hr, 40hr/wk, 12 months effective August 18th, 2008.
              e. Andrea Wager, HS Cook, Level 2, $7.85/hr., 40hr.wk, 9 months, effective Aug. 18th, 2008.
          4. Approved resignations for the following:
              a. Thomas Bolke, East Elem. Custodian, effective August 1st, 2008.
              b. Vincent Mahoney, HS Custodian, effective August 7th, 2008.
              c. Nancy Feldman, West Elem. ESP-SPED, effective August 4th, 2008.

High School Principal, Steve Morford, updated the Board on the High School addition construction.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, discussed school opening activities/information.

Superintendent Peters, Board President Royer, and Special Education Coordinator Keyra Comer, discussed their recent meetings for the SASD Joint Convention in Sioux Falls.

Facility and Grounds Committee Members, Dave Bressler and Dan Krogstad, discussed with the Board the pending report on possible site selection for a new elementary school from DLR, the firm that was hired for that purpose. It was determined the Board would meet as a whole to consider information which would also provide interested community members and staff the opportunity to attend.
Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Caldwell and carried to approve the July 14th, 2008 regular meeting and annual meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to adjourn the regular meeting. 6:17 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________

2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.