Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
January 11, 2010

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 11TH DAY OF JANUARY, 2010.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Royer, Vice President Sleep, Krogstad, Caldwell, and Bressler.  Administration present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Olson, and Soriano.  Also present were:  Marjo Peters, Deb James, Diane Krogstad, Barb Moser, Lindsey Danielson, Carly Schmidt, Amber Meyer, Lana Fremont, Kyle Derosier, Renee Rodriguez, Steve Williams, and Patrick Gainey. 

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the agenda.

There wasn’t any scheduled or unscheduled audience participation.

Special Education Director, Keyra Comer introduced adaptive physical education teacher Anna Sparling and the District’s social worker Amanda Gale who presented information on their new positions.

Steve Williams, from Williams and Associated Architecture, updated the Board on the proposed elementary school.

Toby Morris from Northland Securities presented debt service funding information regarding the Board’s options for the new elementary building.

Governor Rounds has declared January 11th through January 17th as School Board Recognition week.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the second reading and recommended adoption of proposed additions/changes to School Board policies.
       1.   District Parent Involvement Title I Policy (1650) “New”
       2.   Course Equivalent Exam Credit Waiver (HS)  (5705/6710) “New”
       3.   Bullying Policy (6248/5133) “New”
       4.   Nondiscrimination Policy (4010)
       5.   Graduation Requirements (5700A/6505A)
       6.   Board Standing Committees (8130)
       7.   Board Meetings (8210)
       8.   Agenda (8230)
       9.   Parliamentary Rules (8250)
     10.   Quorum (8260)
     11.   Development, Adoption and Amendment of Policies (8310)

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Caldwell and carried to set the annual school election for June 8th, 2010.  School Board members Dave Bressler and Jeff Sleep hold the current positions.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the consent agenda.
      A.    Approve administrative/supervisory contracts with existing staff for 2010-11(salaries to be determined)  Dave Peters, Craig Crosswait, Keyra Comer, Steve Morford, Jim Seyer,
            Tom Riedel, Dan Olson, Paul Soriano, Scott Hardesty, Karen Hahn, Doug Deppe
      B.   Personnel  (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
            1.  Approve resignation from Adriane Bohlender, West SPED-ESP, effective January 13, 2010
            2.   Consider Sara DeBeaumont, West SPED-ESP, 3 1/4 hr day, 9 months, Level 5 $9.35, effective January 11, 2010

The Spearfish Foundation for Public Education gala has been scheduled for January 23rd, 2010 from 5:00 to 7:00 PM at the Mathews Opera House.

Discussion was held on the ongoing school funding lawsuit due to the District being asked to contribute to the Coalition of Schools.   The coalition is funding the lawsuit filed by a group of people who believe the legislature is not meeting its constitutional duty to fund schools at an adequate level.  The Board didn’t make a commitment to participate at this time.

Superintendent Dave Peters, presented information regarding changes by the South Dakota Retirement System concerning the practice of retire/rehire.  The proposed changes include minimum 90 day continuous separation, 15% benefit reduction, and the districts benefit share would go into the fund not the employee.  An emergency clause would make the changes effective April 1st, 2010.

Superintendent Peters recommended a first reading of a new administrative regulation Spearfish School District Web Page (4025AR)   “New”

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the December 14th, 2009 regular meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the bills and financial statements.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Sleep and carried to adjourn the meeting.  6:45 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.