Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
October 12, 2010

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 12TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2010.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Randall Royer, Vice President Jeff Sleep, Dan Krogstad, and Dave Bressler.  Administration present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Riedel, and Soriano.  Also present were:  Jessica Dell, Bobbi Schillinger, Steve Williams, Dakota Savkel, Kelsey Wilson, Sarah Pogany, Jason LeFebre, Sydney Hettinger, Alex Zvolak, Megan Sage, Abi Daly, Nicholas McGeehon, Devin Mork, Shelby Johnson, Connie M. Green, Calvin Dobesh, Ben Pisani, Tim Velder, Kris Hayes, Ryan Best, Scott Soderstrom, Riley Haufele, and Heather Burton. 

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the agenda with one addendum.

There was no scheduled/unscheduled audience.

West Elementary Principal, Paul Soriano, updated the Board on the newly developed “Parent Information Policy” and building “Parent Compacts” that are required by Title I regulations.

Architect Steve Williams provided an update on Creekside Elementary construction.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, and the facility committee members Dan Krogstad and Dave Bressler discussed with the Board the West Elementary crowding issue.  Options included waiting until next fall and responding to enrollment issues then, moving some students to the 1961 East Elementary building, and using modular units or building additional classrooms.

Also discussed by the facilities committee was the disposition of the East Elementary 1924 building.  Discussion items included obtaining a survey of the property, Board action to close the 1924 building as an attendance center, declaring the property surplus, and the best method of sale.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the consent agenda with changes.
        A.  Approved certificates of exemption for 9 elementary, 1 middle school and 3 high school students (codes   010-1012-113 – 010-1012-125)
        B.  Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
             1.  Approved Melissa Larson, East Elem. Title I ESP, increase hours to 6.5 per day, effective September 29, 2010
             2.  Approved Glenda Nedved, West Elem. Food Service, 2/hr day, 9 months, Level 5 $9.35/hr, effective October 12, 2010
             3.   Approved Matt Koehler, MS Boys Basketball, Level 4 $1,950

Superintendent Peters outlined the process necessary to close an attendance center.

Mr. Peters also presented the invitation to participate in the Consolidated Board of Equalization.  The Board named Jeff Sleep as its representative and Dan Krogstad as its alternate.  Roll Call:  Aye:  Royer, Sleep, Krogstad, Bressler.  Absent:  Caldwell

The Board discussed new public polling data regarding public schools and discussions about hot-topic public policy issues.  This data will be the focus of the 2010 ASBSD Regional Meetings. 

The official enrollment count of registered students took place on Friday, September 24th.  The Department of Education has provided initial indication they believe our official enrollment to be 1,965.26.  Because of a change in statute, the district will be able to realize the additional funding for those students during this school year. 

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the September 13, 2010 regular meeting minutes and the September 30, 2010 special meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the financial statement and bills.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Sleep and carried to move into executive to discuss negotiations.  6:22 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session at 6:44 p.m. the regular meeting resumed.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to adjourn the meeting.  6:45 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.