Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
November 14, 2011

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 14TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2011.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Randall Royer, Vice President Jeff Sleep, Dan Krogstad, Mistie Caldwell, and Dave Bressler.  School administrators present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Olson, and Soriano.  Also present were:  Joanna Jones, Sandy Nichols, Will Sayler, Bridger Roberdeau, Rigel Roberdeau, Jay Sayler, Loyke Roberdeau, Mandy Roberdeau, Jaxon Pederson, Ben Sayler, Kristin Pederson, Toni Swets, Marcie Holben, Shaylie Holben, Samantha Gray, Carol Sander, Shawna Junek, Amber Baus, Janelle Gusso, Sydney Gusso, Karisa and Nick Hamann, Chris and Jadyn Hamann, Emily Gass, Ellie Buckmaster, Katie Manning, Bruce Bresee, Jared Albers, Sophie Jarabella, Sarah Hill, Mandi Decker, Linda Mallory, Tate Guptill, Diana Graham, Traig Friedrich, Laura Friedrich, Dan Holben, Allison Coin, Faith Toney, Joslyn Jolley, Jesse Jolley, and Kate Axlund.   

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

President Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the agenda with addendums.                                                                                                                                                                        

There was no scheduled or unscheduled audience participation.

Creekside Elementary Principal, Dan Olson, introduced teacher Sandy Nichols and her class and Dr. Joanna Jones who presented a book they have written about the construction of Creekside Elementary.

High School Principal, Steve Morford, introduced and recognized teacher and football coach Bruce Bresee for his Region IV football coach of the year honors.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, presented information to the Board he had previously shared with staff regarding the district’s financial situation including presenting information on fund balances and strategic plans.

Motion was made by Caldwell seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the consent agenda with addendums.
    A.  Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
          1.  Approved Patricia Schladweiler, MS SPED Teacher, 1 FTE, BS-10, 1 Ugrad, 11 Grad = 73 units = $33,000, prorated 137 days = $24,977.91
          2.  Approved Kim Bettelyoun, MS ESP-SPED, 6.5 hr day, 9 month position, Level 5 $9.35/hr, effective 10/25/11
          3.  Approved to increase Sherry Klinkel,  Creekside Elem., 6.5 hours to 8 hours per day, 2.5 hours per day secretarial wage $12.98 and 5.5 hours per day ESP wage $12.73, 9 month to 10 month position, effective 11/15/11
          4.  Approved the following extra-duty agreements:
               a.  Laurie Williams-Hayes, HS Drama Asst., Level 3 $1,440
               b.  Francis Ruml, Asst. Varsity Wrestling, Level 8 $3,750
          5.  Accepted the following resignations:
               a.  Kevin Adams, MS Custodian, effective 11/19/11
               b.  Mary Noem, West ESP-SPED, effective 11/22/11
               c.   Mike Kane, MS ESP-SPED, effective 12/22/11
               d.   Kristi Roetman, JV Volleyball Coach, effective 11/01/11
               e.  Danielle Gorecki, Sophomore Volleyball Coach, effective 10/27/11
     B.  Approved West Elem. list of volunteers for 2011-2012 school year

The Associated School Boards of South Dakota will hold its delegate assembly on November 18th, 2011.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, discussed the Delta Dental proposal for dental insurance, which proposes no increase from last year, the DakotaCare quote for a 21% increase and the insurance committee’s request for proposal for health insurance.

Superintendent Peters also updated the Board on a meeting held with a patron concerning activity participation by home/private schooled students.

Superintendent Peters presented information from the recent facilities committee meeting concerning the asbestos abatement project at the East 1961 building, the possibility of moving a grade to the East building or adding on to West Elementary.  Information including comparative costs from Williams and Associates should be coming in roughly one month.

The certificates of exemption for private and home schooled students is 127 students approved to date.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Caldwell and carried to approve the minutes from the October 11th, 2011 meeting.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the bills and financial statements.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Caldwell and carried to move into executive session to discuss a personnel issue and negotiations with staff.  6:15 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session, the regular meeting resumed.  7:04 p.m.

Board President, Randall Royer, adjourned the meeting.  7:05 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.