Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
August 8, 2011

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 8TH DAY OF AUGUST, 2011.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Randall Royer, Vice President Jeff Sleep, Dan Krogstad, and Dave Bressler.  School administrators present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Riedel, Olson, and Soriano.  Also present were:  Doug Deppe and Bernie Krambeck. 

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the agenda with addendums.                                                                                                                                                                       

Business Manager, Craig Crosswait, swore in newly reelected Board member Randall Royer.

There was no scheduled or unscheduled audience participation.

Williams and Associates Architect, Steve Williams, updated the Board on the Creekside Elementary project.

Buildings and Grounds Coordinator, Doug Deppe, updated the Board on the summer projects.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Sleep and carried to approve the School Board President and School Business Manager to execute and deliver a warranty deed for the 1924 East Elementary property to Rand and Gayla Williams.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the consent agenda with addendums.
     A.  Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
          1.  Approve additional 2.5/hours for Linda Mallory summer school
          2.  Approve the following resignations:
               a.  Tammy McDaniel, West Elem. SPED-ESP, effective July 21, 2011
               b.  Sandra Tarrant, West Elem. SPED-ESP, effective August 1, 2011
               c.  Glenda Nedved, West Elem. Food Service, effective August 2, 2011
               d.  Bernard Barnaud, HS French Teacher, effective August 3, 2011
               e.  Virginia Meisel, West Elem. Food Service, effective August 4, 2011
            3. Mary Jo Beug transfer from general secretary to principal secretary, 8/hr. day, 10 months, $11.88/hr, effective July 1st, 2011.
            4. Cory Heidelberger, HS French Teacher, MA-10, 3 Undergrad, 50 Grad = 203 = $35,000

President Royer discussed the Board’s self evaluations.

The Board’s committees remained the same as last year.
          Personnel/Policy (Dan Krogstad and Jeff Sleep)
         Curriculum  (Mistie Caldwell and Randall Royer)
          Finance  (Jeff Sleep and Randall Royer)
          Facilities  (Dan Krogstad and Dave Bressler)

Superintendent, Dave Peters, invited all Board members to the back-to-school events.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the July 11th, 2011 regular and annual meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the financial reports and bills.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to recess to Creekside Elementary to reconvene the meeting for a tour.

President Royer adjourned the meeting at 7:11 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.