Spearfish School District District 40-2
Spearfish, SD  

School Board Minutes
February 13, 2012

A REGULAR  MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 13TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2012.  THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:  President Randall Royer, Vice President Jeff Sleep, Mistie Caldwell, Dan Krogstad, and Dave Bressler.  School administrators present were:  Peters, Crosswait, Comer, Morford, Seyer, Riedel, Olson, and Soriano.  Also present were:  Lisha Rice, Mariah Koehne, Alex Whitney, Erin Cole, Emily Bauer, Tacy Bressler, Ananbel Goldberg, Miles Cross, Krystle Audiss, Elizabeth Ford, Mandi Montieth, Kathryn McHenny, Holly O’Dell, Becca Hugley, Peter Fenste, Alex Johnson, Evan Strand, Mitch McDevitt, Cooper Stanforth, Nancy Wietgrefe, Kent Wietgrefe, Linda Mallory, Brad Heath, Amanda Nelson, Danielle Johnson, Madison Keller, Christa Winjen, Amanda Schup, Samantha Brush and Monica Przybilla 

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Royer called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

President Royer led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Sleep seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the agenda.

Spearfish Education Association President, Linda Mallory, addressed the Board concerning her testimony in opposition to the proposed House Bill 1234 and the Governor’s intent to provide bonuses for new math and science teachers.

Tacy Bressler and Nancy and Kent Wietgrefe addressed the Board with concerns about communication with student athletes and their parents during their rehabilitation from concussions.

Business Manager, Craig Crosswait, introduced Shelley Goodrich and John Walker from Ketel Thorstenson who presented the fiscal year 2011 financial audit.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Caldwell and carried to approve the audit.

West Elementary Principal, Paul Soriano, presented information to the Board on all day kindergarten from a facilities perspective.  The preference at this time is to wait until the East renovation has been completed and then begin all day every day kindergarten starting with school year 2013-14.

Building teachers of the year are West Elementary:  Betty Lenners,  Creekside Elementary:  Leslie Speirs,  Middle School:  Marilee Woodard,  and High School:  Tobin Barnes.

High School Principal, Steve Morford, presented information on additional training time for staff as the transition into Common Core standards, new teacher and principal evaluation methods and a district wide accreditation process begins.

Consent Agenda
    A.  Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
          1.  Approved Luke Connally, West Elem. 1st Grade Teacher, effective 02/02/2012 – 05/24/2012,  74.5 days,  BS-0, 25 UGrad = 25 units = $32,000, prorated = $13,171.27
          2.  Approved Marcie Holben, MS Track Coach, Level 4 $1,950
    B.  Approved request from an Open Enrolled student to be released from Open Enrollment in the Spearfish School District and allowed to return to their resident district of Lead/Deadwood.

The first reading of recommended School District policy changes and or additions was held.  The policies included the following.
      A.  Drug Free Workplace   (4202)
      B.  Family Medical Leave Act  (4410)
      C.  Reimbursement of District Travel  (4651 AR)
      D.  Reporting Child Abuse  (4050) “new”
      E.   Board Member Code of Ethics  (8700) “new”   

Business Manager, Craig Crosswait, provided the Board with a brief update on the 2012-13 school budgeting process.

Superintendent, Dave Peters, updated the Board on the most recent legislative activity.

The Board provided clarification to the administration staff in responding to class size changes throughout the school year.

The certificate of exemption update includes 1 Elementary and 4 High School students for a total this school year of 146.

Motion was made by Krogstad, seconded by Bressler and carried to approve the January 9th, 2012 regular meeting minutes.

Motion was made by Sleep, seconded by Krogstad and carried to approve the bills and financial statement.

Motion was made by Bressler, seconded by Sleep and carried to adjourn the meeting.  6:44 p.m.

Randall Royer, President                    ___________________________________

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager   ___________________________________


2005 Spearfish School District
 The sites contained herein are the representation of the students, staff, and faculty of the district and do not necessary represent the District's views or opinions. Unauthorized distribution or use of copyrighted materials may violate applicable law.