elcome to the Spearfish School District website. We serve approximately 2,400 students in the Spearfish community and surrounding area. Our district's mission statement, "Empowering All Students to Succeed in a Changing World," is a goal we take very seriously. The Spearfish School District provides quality programs for all ranges of academic learners.
The Spearfish School District is a positive, productive learning institution with a history of high expectations and student success. Our staff is experienced, talented and dedicated to the success of our students. The school system and community place high value on the education of our youth, and that expectation serves as a catalyst for student success in a rigorous learning environment.





The following students have earned the opportunity to represent Spearfish in Fort Lauderdale this June, at the National Debate Tournament: Griffin Smith and Zach Zwaschka In duo Interp; Justin Steedly in Student Congress; and Echo Palmgren and Braden Case in World Debate. Griffin Smith also became the first four-year national qualifier ever from our school and one of less than fifty that earn that honor each season in the nation. Griffin also was chosen as the District student of the Year.

Congratulations to Evan Hehr and Max Sailor for placing at the state wrestling tournament. Evan 6th at 195 pounds, Max 7th at 126

Congratulations to Justin Steadley, Echo Palmgren, Griffin Smith, Zac Zwaschka, and Brayden Case. National Qualifiers in Speech and Debate.

Congratulations to the Speech and Debate team for winning the SDHSAA Class A Championship

Griffin Smith and Zac Zwaschka, Hole in the Wall District Champs in Duo. National Qualifiers in Duo.

Stop into the activities office to purchase activity tickets

Congratulations to Logan Smith: named at 2018 National Merit Semifinalist
All State Orchestra
Congratulations to Anna Pochop, 4 year All State Orchestra member
All State Choir
Congratulations to the 2017 Spearfish High School All-State Chorus Members: Faith Burnett, Izaak Colgrove, Makenna DuPont, Brady Greger, Ellie Greger, Bryce Mullaney, Emma Murphy, Tristen Olsson, Katie O'Shea, Ashtyn Reiners, Matt Spear, and Connor Speirs. Izaak Colgrove and Brady Greger are four-year All-State Chorus members.
High School Students of the Month
Congratulations to Madeline Boe, Grace Cihak, and Izaak Colgrove on being selected as the April Students of the Month!
High School Character Student of the Month
Congratulations to Morgan Roberts, Marle Wendland, and Kyla Jarvis for being nominated and selected as the High School Character Students of the Month!
Creekside 2nd Trimester Pillar Winners
Caring-Hannah Sandgren, Kaitlyn Wheaton, Megan Roth, September, Jessica Cooley Responsibility- Katie Gray, Tucker D. Olson, Alexis Hayford, Hollie Wise, Samya Varela Gomez Trustworthiness- Thea Schroding, Tiersyn Grubb, Lanie Ewing, TaShaun Dominick, Elizabeth Campbell
SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT | 525 E. Illinois | Spearfish, SD 57783 | P: 605.717.1201 | F: 605.717.1200

2009 Website designed and built by